Fall and Winter Eating

I’m so much more of a fall and winter cook than summer.  I seem to be at a loss for what to cook in the summer months.  Perhaps it’s because I don’t garden (although I wish Matt would).  Or because we don’t own a grill (although I have intentions of getting one someday).  But come Fall, I am ready for hearty soups and all kinds of things made in the crockpot!

A symbol of Winter eating

As for brothy soups, I often make it up as I go along.  Sometimes I’ll peruse recipes for ingredient combination ideas, but generally my brothy soups involve kale as the green element, some sort of grain or bean, and whatever else I have on hand.  I almost never make meat soups.   A few days ago, I saw this recipe for Tomato Spinach Orzo soup and replaced kale for the spinach, left out the water, and topped with parmesan cheese.  I am not sure orzo in a soup is my favorite way to eat that grain, but it was good–especially because I was nursing a cold.  Jonah ate the orzo and broth parts.

In the crockpot right now I am trying out this new recipe for Chicken & Dumplings.  I was mostly interested in this recipe because I thought Jonah might like it.  This recipe calls for condensed Cream of Chicken soup.  I no longer buy any condensed cream of whatever soups.  They are high in sodium and contain soy protein.  I make my own ‘cream of anything’ soup for recipes.   I did not add chicken pieces since the soup is going into a chicken dish.  I added one packet of this and hopefully that will do.

NO NO NO

 

Condensed “Cream of Anything” Soup

1 cup cold milk
2 Tbsp cornstarch
1 1/2 Tbsp butter
1 tsp chicken bouillon
1/2 tsp salt
dash of pepper

Instructions
In a small saucepan, whisk milk and cornstarch till well blended.
Stir in butter, bouillon, salt, and pepper.
Heat to a boil, stirring frequently. Simmer on low for one minute more to thicken.
Use in recipes to replace one can of cream of anything soup.

CONDENSED CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP:
Stir in a drained 4 ounce can of mushroom pieces to the recipe above.
Use in recipes in place of one can of Cream of Mushroom Soup.

CONDENSED CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP:
Stir in 1/2 cup cooked chicken pieces to the recipe above.
Use in recipes in place of one can of Cream of Chicken Soup.

CONDENSED CREAM OF CELERY SOUP
Stir in 1/2 cup sautéed chopped celery to the recipe above.
Use in recipes in place of one can of Cream of Celery Soup.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fall and Winter Eating

  1. Thank you for linking to my blog. I’m so glad you posted an alternative cream of anything! I’ve been doing a bit of reading on what’s in our foods and am trying to adjust things as I can. Would love to hear how the the chicken and dumplings turn out. :)

Leave a Reply

